skip to Main Content
It has come to our attention that there are individuals falsely claiming to represent Red Seal Recruiting Solutions Ltd and sending messages about job opportunities without our permission. If you are unsure about the authenticity of any messages concerning a job opportunity, please check our job board for the latest postings. If you receive any other messages claiming to be from Red Seal Recruiting Solutions Ltd that you are unsure about, please contact your local Red Seal Branch branch to verify its authenticity. Thank you for your attention.

Interview Records Retention

When it comes to retaining interview and recruiting notes, how long is long enough? The answer depends on where you are located and which industry you work in.
Red-Seal-Recruiting-Interview-Records-RetentionLicensed recruitment agencies are required to keep records for two years under the British Columbia Employment Standards Act while the BC Personal Information Protection Act requires employers keep records for one year.

Section 35 states: “If an organization uses an individual’s personal information to make a decision that directly affects the individual, the organization must retain that information for at least one year after using it so that the individual has a reasonable opportunity to obtain access to it.”

Employers are encouraged to consult the specific privacy legislation for your province or territory. We’ve provided web links for each one at the end of this article.

Federally Regulated Businesses and PIPEDA

The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) applies to the commercial transactions of organizations that operate in Canada’s private sector. More specifically, PIPEDA applies to organizations that are federally regulated and fall under the legislative authority of the Parliament of Canada, such as the telecommunications and broadcasting industry, and all local businesses and employers in Yukon, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories.

Canadian Privacy Legislation Resources


British Columbia
New Brunswick
Newfoundland and Labrador
Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island


Northwest Territories